Zoella | The Rise of the YouTuber

On Sunday night, while watching my guilty pleasure of the week (the UK X-Factor) I was pleasantly surprised to see an advert for Zoe Sugg’s a.k.a Zoella’s YouTube channel. Up until this point there’s been very distinct boundaries between the two worlds of television and YouTube but it would seem that now more than ever such boundaries are becoming more and more blurred. To see the advert and Zoe’s take on it, watch her vlog from Sunday below: 

I first discovered YouTube as a form of entertainment a few years back, when I started to watch such people as CharlieissooollikeMissGlamorazzi and Sprinkle of Glitter. Ever since then I’ve fallen in love with YouTube as a platform, relishing the freedom that it gives me to watch whatever I want, whenever I want. What I think is so interesting about YouTube as a form of social media, is that it’s the first of it’s kind and is accessible to all-in theory anyone of us could become a ‘YouTuber’. That’s why the rise of Zoella as a channel and now as a brand is so fascinating.

After surpassing 6 million followers on her channel, Zoe has recently launched  Zoella Beauty -her own range of bath and beauty products. For anyone who is familiar with Zoe’s videos, the line of beauty products could not be more perfect for the 24-year old, with every piece being something that you could see her using. As if the success of the beauty range wasn’t enough, Zoe is also set to release a fictional novel later on this year.

zoella

I guess with no blueprint to follow, it’s up to Zoe and her fellow YouTubers to direct their online careers in whichever direction they choose. It will be interesting to see the longevity of YouTube as a platform, as well as the YouTubers themselves. But if anyone can create a lasting career in this role, my money’s on those YouTubers like Zoe who keep themselves grounded and create relatable content for their audience.

For a selection of such YouTubers, have a look below for some of my favourite beauty guru’s, vloggers and documentary makers, enjoy 🙂 …

Essie Button

SacconeJoly’s 

Ugly Face Of Beauty

PointlessBlog

JacksGap

FunForLouis

Leave a comment