Emma Watson | Hermione Would Be Proud!

emma un

Emma Watson is someone I’ve been inspired by for a long time, and on this blog I’ve mostly only ever spoken about my love of her style or her movies. But today I am going to talk about something much more important, the genuine difference Emma is making to how we look at feminism.

In July of this year, Emma was appointed as the UN’s Women Goodwill Ambassador and gave her first address at the UN headquarters last week. Emma launched the UN’s HeForShe campaign at the event, with the actress delivering a thought provoking speech to a roar of applause and a standing ovation. Emma’s speech was full of honesty and personal anecdotes, with the 24-year old speaking of the need for both sexes to come together, to eradicate gender inequality.

I loved how honest Emma was in her speech, with her thoughts echoing many of my own (and I’m sure yours as well) :

“When I was eight, I was confused about being called ‘bossy’ because I wanted to direct the plays that we would put on for our parents. But the boys were not. When at 14, I started to be sexualized by certain elements of the media. When at 15, my girlfriends started dropping out of their beloved sports teams because they didn’t want to appear ‘muscle-y.’ When at 18, my males friends were unable to express their feelings; I decided that I was a feminist.”

To watch a speech that Hermione herself would be proud of, click the link below:

We salute you Emma!

2 Comments

Filed under Inspiration, Lifestyle

2 responses to “Emma Watson | Hermione Would Be Proud!

  1. Satisfying when someone speaks the truth xxx

Leave a Reply

