2017! We’ve been waiting for you

I’m not really one for New Year’s resolutions. Don’t get me wrong, a sugar-free month or the start of a gym-bunny lifestyle can make perfect sense on New Year’s Eve but in the gloomy light of a January day can seem less achievable.

But there’s nothing wrong with setting yourself some life goals. A well thought out set of aims that you wish to achieve in a specific period, be that a year, month or longer.

With that said, I thought I’d begin the year by working on one of my own goals – getting back to my blog. I realise that I have neglected this space and whether I decide to create a new one, or maintain this virtual diary that I started in 2012, I will at least decide.

Now for the rest of them:

  • See the world – while I realise this is nothing original, it doesn’t make it any less true. The more I see of the world, the more I want to see it. And as a self-confessed ‘home-body’ I know that with every lone plane ride and new city I explore with friends, I become braver.
  • Spend time with my loves – whether it’s my beloved family or the friends that make my howl with laughter, I know I am lucky to have these people. That’s why I intend to continually keep them close and make new memories with them – let’s try something new this year!
  • Listen to it live – again, something so simple but a discovery from 2016 that I want to take into 2017. Last year, I went to see more live music that I ever have and I absolutely loved it! That feeling of moving as one in a crowd and being in a room with like-minded music geeks is what I adore most about it.

A few concerts on my list for 2017 are Birdy, Craig David (no, I’m not joking) and J.Cole.

  • Don’t be so hard on yourself – I’m often my harshest critic. If I find something difficult, I can listen to that little voice in my head that says I can’t do it. Well, no more. It’s not going to be easy, but I’m going to turn the volume up on that bad-ass cheerleader in my head. She’s usually right.
  • Speak up – my friends/family will tell you that I’m not afraid to speak my mind. But in situations where I’m less comfortable, I can be quieter and brush things under the carpet that need addressing. There’s nothing wrong with communicating fears, concerns, stress or needs to some else so don’t be afraid.
  • Do good – I’m happiest when I’m doing things for others. At the end of last year, I got involved in a few charity projects for Christmas, but this isn’t something that should just be a seasonal thing. Help is needed all year round and there’s no point complaining about situations (such as homelessness or the horrors in Aleppo) if you’re not willing to do something about it – so get going! 

It’s fair to say that 2016 will always be remembered as ‘that crazy year’ but at least we have the chance to hit playback and do it all over again, which is all we can really ask for.

Happy New Year guys!

Leave a comment